عن

 

 

 

أطلقت مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون ومعهد كونست ورك للفن المعاصر، بالتعاون مع معهد غوته بالدار البيضاء و”ثنكآرت” و”زمان بوكس آند كيوريتينغ”، مشروعاً مشتركاً يتخذ منطلقه من إرث المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء وأساليبها التربوية المبتكرة واستراتيجيات المعارض في المغرب خلال ستينيات القرن الماضي. تم إطلاق المبادرة في عام 2020، وستستمر لغاية عام 2024.

يسلط مشروع مدرسة الدار البيضاء الضوء على لحظة مفصلية في تاريخ الفن المغربي تركت تأثيرات على المنطقة عامة. بعد استقلال المغرب في العام 1956، ظهر وعي مدني جديد أثر على الفنانين والمثقفين الساعين إلى إعادة النظر في دورهم الاجتماعي وحضورهم في المجال العام. وفي هذا السياق، أمسى الفنان منتجاً لمشروع اجتماعي وثقافي، مع التعويل على تحويل الفن مساحة للمعرفة والخبرة المشتركة، ولتشكّل المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء ملتقى مؤثراً لتطوير هذه الأفكار والممارسات، مستلهمة بيان الحركة الفنية الألمانية “باوهاوس” وتفاسيره، عبر نماذج لإعادة التفكير في العلاقة بين الفنون والحرف اليدوية والتصميم والهندسة المعمارية في سياق محلي.

وتأتي هذه المبادرة المشتركة الجديدة، بالتزامن مع الذكرى المئوية لتأسيس الحركة الفنية الألمانية باوهاوس، وتسعى إلى تعزيز حضور تراث المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء في الفكر المعاصر، ليس فقط في السياق المغربي، بل بما يمتد ليشمل التفكير النقدي في تقاليد المنهجية الغربية وتصور الذات عموماً.

يعيد مشروع مدرسة الدار البيضاء، عبر مجموعة متنوعة من الأنشطة، النظر في أفكار وأفعال مجموعة الأفراد الذين أسسوا المدرسة (1964-1969)، وعملوا على تجديدها بشكل راديكالي، معتمدين في ذلك على روح التجريب والخطاب والتنظيم الذاتي، وبناء المجتمع الذي جسّدته المجلة الثقافية المغربية الشهيرة آنذاك “سوفليس”. أسس هذه المجلة الثقافية في العام 1966 كل من عبد اللطيف اللعبي ومصطفى نيسابوري ومحمد خير الدين، وتعاونوا حينها على نطاق واسع مع المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء، لكن السلطات حظرت المجلة في العام 1972، بعد أن شكّلت منبراً مهماً ومحورياً للفنانين المغاربة والعالميين، والشعراء والرسامين والسينمائيين والمسرحيين والمثقفين.

مشروع مدرسة الدار البيضاء من تقييم حور القاسمي، رئيس مؤسسة الشارقة للفنون؛ كريست غرويغثويزين مدير معهد كونست ورك للفن المعاصر في برلين؛ سلمى لحلو قيّمة مستقلة ومؤسسة “ثنكآرت” في الدار البيضاء؛ إنكا غريسيل مدير غاليري  إيفا في برلين، وعليا سبتي مدير غاليري  إيفا في برلين (إجازة أمومة).

يتضمن مشروع مدرسة الدار البيضاء إقامات بحثية وبرامج عامة وأرشيفاً رقمياً ومعرضاً جوالاً للأعمال الجديدة أنشأها الفنانون المقيمون، بالإضافة إلى معرض للأعمال التاريخية للفنانين الذين كانوا على ارتباط بالمدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء.

 

برنامج الإقامات

دعو برنامج الإقامة ستة مشاركين لإجراء بحث ميداني في مدينة الدار البيضاء (سبتمبر 2020 – سبتمبر 2022). ستوفر الإقامات سياقاً محلياً للممارسة التجريبية والبحث المكثف في تاريخ المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء وفق منظور معاصر، وستتيح للمشاركين استكشاف مجموعة من الأسئلة المهمة مثل: ما الذي حققته المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء من ناحية تطوير الممارسات التربوية والفنية والمعارض؟ ما هي الاستنتاجات التي يمكن استخلاصها من إرث المدرسة؟ ما الذي نؤسس عليه باستخدام هذه المعرفة وكيف يمكن تخطيها إلى آفاق جديدة؟ كيف يمكن لمشروع مدرسة الدار البيضاء أن يساهم في تطوير ممارسات فنية جديدة وتبادل وإنتاج المعرفة؟

 

البرامج العامة

سيقدم مشروع مدرسة الدار البيضاء برامج وأنشطة عامة للمجتمع المحلي في الدار البيضاء وخارجها، وستوفر سياقاً جديداً للتعلم والتشاركية مع الأفكار الجديدة للمدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء. كما سيؤسس المشروع لبيئة تجريبية لطرق تفكير جديدة في الفضاء العام والفن والتصميم ووظائفها الاجتماعية اليوم، بالإضافة إلى تطوير ممارسات وأدوات جديدة للفنانين.

 

الأرشيف الرقمي

سيتضمن المشروع أرشفة رقمية للمدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء بإدارة “زمان بوكس آند كيوريتينغ”. سيشكل الأرشيف ركيزة منصة إنترنيتية أشمل، تحتضن مجموعة من النصوص والأعمال المتنوعة من الجنوب العالمي، بدءاً من أرشيف المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء، وصولاً إلى الاتجاهات الحداثية والرائدة وتواريخها من الجنوب العالمي. سيكون الأرشيف في متناول القراء من جميع أنحاء العالم.

About

 

 

 

KW Institute for Contemporary Art and Sharjah Art Foundation, in collaboration with Goethe-Institut Marokko, ThinkArt and Zamân Books & Curating have initiated the School of Casablanca, a collaborative project that takes as its starting point the legacy of the Casablanca Art School and its innovative pedagogical methods and exhibition strategies in 1960s Morocco. Launched in 2020, the initiative will continue through 2024.

The School of Casablanca highlights a pivotal moment in Moroccan art history that had implications for the wider region. After Moroccan independence in 1956, a new civic awareness emerged and impacted artists and intellectuals seeking to reconsider their social function and visibility in the public sphere. Through this process, the artist became the producer of a social and cultural project, in which art was expected to become a space of shared knowledge and experience. The Casablanca Art School was a seminal forum for the development of these ideas and related practices. Drawing on and interpreting the Bauhaus Manifesto, the school engaged models of rethinking the relationship between arts, crafts, design and architecture within a local context.

Recommencing this engagement after the centennial of the Bauhaus, this new collaborative initiative seeks to further the legacy of the Casablanca Art School in contemporary thought, which is important not only within a Moroccan context, but also in relation to critical reflection on the traditions of Western methodology and self-perception.

Through a diverse range of activities, the School of Casablanca revisits and renews the radicality of ideas and actions of the group of individuals who shaped the original school at its peak (1964–1969), and draws upon the spirit of experimentation, discourse, self-organization and community building embodied by the famous Moroccan cultural magazine of the time, Souffles. Iconic and avant-garde, the cultural review was founded in 1966 by Abdellatif Laâbi, Mostafa Nissabouri and Mohammed Khaîr-Eddine, and collaborated extensively with the Casablanca Art School. Banned by the authorities in 1972, the magazine was an important focal point for Moroccan and international artists, poets, painters, filmmakers, thespians, intellectuals and cultural figures.

The School of Casablanca is curated by Hoor Al Qasimi, Director, Sharjah Art Foundation; Krist Gruijthuijsen, Director, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin; Salma Lahlou, Independent Curator and Founder, ThinkArt, Casablanca; Inka Gressel, Director, ifa-Galerie, Berlin and Alya Sebti, Director, ifa-Galerie, Berlin (parental leave).

The project includes research residencies, public programs, a digital archive and a touring exhibition of new works created by the residents as well as an exhibition of historical works by the artists who were originally associated with the Casablanca Art School.

Residencies
The residency program invites six participants to conduct research and field work in the city of Casablanca (September 2020–September 2022). The residencies will provide a local context for experimental practice and focused research on the history of the Casablanca Art School from a contemporary perspective, and will allow participants to explore a range of important questions such as, what was achieved by the Casablanca Art School in terms of the development of innovative pedagogical, artistic and exhibition practices? What conclusions can be drawn from the school’s legacy? How and what can we build using this knowledge and moving beyond it? And how can the School of Casablanca contribute to the development of new artistic practices and the exchange and production of knowledge?

Public Programs
The School of Casablanca will offer public programs and activities for the local community of Casablanca and beyond, and will provide a new context for learning and engagement with the ideas of the original Casablanca Art School. They will also create an environment for experimenting with new ways of thinking about archive, public space, art and design, and their social function today as well as the development of new practices and tools for artists.

Digital Archive
The project will include the digital archiving of the Casablanca Art School (C.A.S.A.– Casablanca Art School Archives), which is managed by Zamân Books & Curating. The archive will form the basis of a wider online platform, which will host a collection of various texts and bodies of work from the Global South, starting with CASA, and provide a comprehensive digital resource for information about modernist and avant-garde histories and trends from the Global South. It will be accessible to everyone around the world with the required credentials.