Commisaires

 

 

 

Krist Gruijthuijsen, directeur du KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin
Krist Gruijthuijsen (né en 1980, Pays-Bas) est commissaire d’exposition et, depuis juillet 2016, directeur du KW Institute for Contemporary Art. Au KW, il a été commissaire d’expositions présentant notamment les travaux de Ronald Jones, Hanne Lippard, Ian Wilson, Adam Pendleton, Hiwa K, Willem de Rooij, Beatriz González, David Wojnarowicz, Hreinn Friðfinnsson et Hassan Sharif. Krist Gruijthuijsen a été directeur artistique de la Grazer Kunstverein à Graz (2012-16) et directeur du département des arts plastiques du Sandberg Instituut d’Amsterdam (2011-16). Il est l’un des directeurs co-fondateurs du Kunstverein d’Amsterdam et a organisé de nombreuses expositions et projets au cours de la dernière décennie.

Hoor Al Qasimi, Directeur, Sharjah Art Foundation, Sharjah
Hoor Al Qasimi est présidente et directrice de la Sharjah Art Foundation. Ses récents projets de conservation comprennent des expositions individuelles des œuvres d’Amal Kenawy (2018), Hassan Sharif (2017), Yayoi Kusama (2016), Robert Breer (2016), Farideh Lashai (2016), Rasheed Araeen (2014) et Susan Hefuna (2014). Elle a été co-commissaire de l’exposition Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige: Two Suns in a Sunset (2016) et d’importantes expositions historiques telles que When Art Becomes Liberty: The Egyptian Surrealists (1938-1965) (2016) et The Khartoum School: The Making of the Modern Art Movement in Sudan (1945-Present) (2016-17). Co-commissaire de la Biennale de Sharjah 6 (2003), elle en est depuis la directrice. Elle a été commissaire du Pavillon national des Émirats arabes unis lors de la Biennale de Venise de 2015 et de la seconde Biennale de Lahore (2020).

Salma Lahlou, commissaire indépendante et fondatrice de ThinkArt, Casablanca
Diplômée en études curatoriales et en droit, Salma Lahlou bénéficie de solides compétences en matière de gestion de projets culturels. D’abord présidente déléguée de la Fondation nationale des musées du Maroc, elle crée Thinkart dans les domaines des arts visuels et des pratiques curatoriales en 2015. Elle a été commissaire de nombreuses expositions, les plus récentes étant, The Whole World a Bauhaus—Breaking the Wave, from the Bauhaus to Mohamed Melehi and the Casablanca School to Nassim Azarzar au ZKM (2019-20), Loading… Casa pendant la Dubai Design Week (2017) et à Bruxelles (2018), In the Carpet/Über den Teppich à Stuttgart (2016) et à Berlin (2017), et L’École des beaux-arts de Casablanca : Belkahia, Chabâa, Melehi et la fabrication de l’art et de l’histoire, lors de la 6e édition de la Biennale de Marrakech en 2016.

Inka Gressel, directrice de l’ifa-Galerie, Berlin
Inka Gressel dirige actuellement la galerie ifa de Berlin (Institut des relations culturelles internationales). Elle effectue des recherches sur les formes narratives globales dans le domaine du textile depuis la Documenta 12 (2007). Auparavant, elle a occupé un poste de conservateur au Badischer Kunstverein de Karlsruhe en Allemagne. Elle a également co-développé le programme éducatif de l’exposition The Art of Enlightenment à Pékin pour le compte des Pinakotheken de Munich. Elle a rejoint l’ifa en 2012, en mettant l’accent sur l’échange international d’œuvres d’art dans les expositions, et a été co-curatrice de l’exposition itinérante organisée par l’ifa : The Event of a Thread.

Alya Sebti, directrice de ifa-Galerie, Berlin (congé parental)
Alya Sebti dirige la galerie ifa de Berlin (Institut des relations culturelles internationales) depuis 2016. Elle fait partie de l’équipe artistique de Manifesta 13, qui aura lieu à Marseille (FR) en 2020. En 2018, elle a été commissaire invitée de la 13e Dak’Art, biennale d’art africain contemporain et, en 2014, elle a été la directrice artistique de la 5e Biennale de Marrakech. Elle a été commissaire de plusieurs expositions, dont invisible au musée de l’IFAN de Dakar, Carrefour/Treffpunkt aux galeries de l’ifa, Casablanca, Énergie noire dans le cadre de Mons 2015-Capitale européenne de la culture, et Now Eat My Script au KW Institute for Contemporary Art de Berlin (2014).

Curators

 

 

 

Krist Gruijthuijsen, Director, KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin
Krist Gruijthuijsen (b. 1980, NL) is a curator and since July 2016, Director of KW Institute for Contemporary Art. At KW, he has curated exhibitions with, among others, Hanne Lippard, Ian Wilson, Adam Pendleton, Ronald Jones, Hiwa K, Willem de Rooij, Beatriz González, David Wojnarowicz, Hreinn Friðfinnsson, and Hassan Sharif. Gruijthuijsen was Artistic Director of the Grazer Kunstverein in Graz (AT, 2012–16) and Course Director of the MA Fine Arts Department at the Sandberg Instituut in Amsterdam (2011–16). He is one of the co-founding directors of Kunstverein in Amsterdam and has organized numerous exhibitions and projects over the past decade.

Hoor Al Qasimi, Director, Sharjah Art Foundation, Sharjah
Hoor Al Qasimi is President and Director of Sharjah Art Foundation. Her recent curatorial projects include solo exhibitions of the works of Amal Kenawy (2018), Hassan Sharif (2017), Yayoi Kusama (2016), Robert Breer (2016), Farideh Lashai (2016), Rasheed Araeen (2014), and Susan Hefuna (2014). She was co-curator for Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige: Two Suns in a Sunset (2016) and major surveys such as When Art Becomes Liberty: The Egyptian Surrealists (1938–1965) (2016) and The Khartoum School: The Making of the Modern Art Movement in Sudan (1945–Present) (2016–17). Co-curator of Sharjah Biennial 6 (2003), she has since continued as Biennial Director. She curated the UAE National Pavilion, Venice Biennale (2015) and the second Lahore Biennale (2020).

Salma Lahlou, Independent Curator and Founder, ThinkArt, Casablanca
Graduate in both curatorial studies and law, Salma Lahlou has a solid knowledge of cultural project management. After working as the Vice President of the National Museums Foundation of Morocco, she founded Thinkart in the fields of visual arts and curatorial practices in 2015. She has curated various exhibitions, including, most recently, The Whole World a Bauhaus—Breaking the Wave, from the Bauhaus to Mohamed Melehi and the Casablanca School to Nassim Azarzar at the ZKM Karlsruhe, DE (2019–20); Loading… Casa during the Dubai Design Week (2017) and in Brussels (2018); In the Carpet/Über den Teppich at the ifa Galleries in Stuttgart (2016) and Berlin (2017); and The Casablanca School of Fine Arts: Belkahia, Chabâa, Melehi and the Fabrication of Art and History during the 6th edition of the Marrakech Biennale in 2016.

Inka Gressel, Director, ifa Gallery Berlin
Inka Gressel currently heads the ifa Gallery Berlin (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen). She has researched global narrative forms in textiles since documenta 12 (2007). Prior to this work, she held a curatorial position at Badischer Kunstverein Karlsruhe (DE). She also co-developed the education program for The Art of Enlightenment exhibition in Beijing on behalf of the Pinakotheken in Munich. She joined the ifa in 2012, with a focus on international art exchange in exhibitions, and co-curated the ifa touring exhibition The Event of a Thread.

Alya Sebti, Director, ifa Gallery Berlin (parental leave)
Alya Sebti has been directing the ifa Gallery Berlin (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) since 2016. She is part of the artistic team of Manifesta 13, which will take place in Marseille (FR) in 2020. In 2018, she was guest curator of the 13th Dak’Art, Biennial of Contemporary African Art, and in 2014, she was the Artistic Director of the 5th Marrakech Biennial. She has curated several exhibitions, including invisible at Musée de l’IFAN in Dakar, Carrefour/Treffpunkt at the ifa Galleries; Casablanca, Energie Noire as part of Mons 2015—European Capital of Culture; and Now Eat My Script at KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin (2014).