CASA

 

 

 

C.A.S.A.– Casablanca Art School Archives
أرشيف المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء
زمان بوكس آند كيوريتينغ

المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء: عصر ذهبي أم فترة ثورية؟

شكّل وصول فريد بلكاهية في العام 1962 إلى رئاسة المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء (حيث سيبقى حتى العام 1974) فصلاً جديداً ومختلفاً تماماً في التاريخ الطويل لمؤسسة ولدت في عهد الفرنسيين تحت تأثير استعماري. (المدرسة لا تزال نشطة حتى يومنا هذا). قد يتحدث المرء عن فترة ذهبية، أو 12 عاماً من مجموعة كبيرة من البيانات والثورات الفنية. أظهر بلكاهية الطبيعة الراديكالية والمتماسكة في الوقت نفسه لمشروعه الخاص بالمدرسة من خلال التوسع التدريجي في أعضاء هيئة التدريس، حيث دمج شخصيات مثل محمد مليحي وطوني مرايني، ثم محمد شبعة وبيرت فلينت، ما أثبت أنه أنشأ أكثر مجموعة فنية أسطورية في تاريخ المغرب. كما انضم ثلاثة فنانين آخرين وهم رومان عطا الله ومصطفى حفيظ ومحمد حميدي، إلى صفوف الفنانين المذكورين.

عملت المدرسة على استبدال طرق التدريس مثل الرسم على الحامل، والعمل وفق نماذج الحياة ، أو بشكل أعم التقاليد الغربية (ما بعد التكعيبية، وما بعد الانطباعية، وحتى الاستشراقية) بأسلوب تعليمي بديل، يكون موجهاً إلى تحرير الطاقة الإبداعية للطلاب، وتوفير وجهات نظر مستقبلية من داخل الفنون والتقاليد المغربية. تخلت المدرسة عن النظام الذي يوفر فرصاً تجارية وحرفية بحتة لصالح التدريب الذي من شأنه أن ينتج “فنانين – حرفيين” أصليين.

كان التحدي أكبر بالنسبة للعديد من الشباب المغربي يتمثل باتخاذ الاستقلال سبيلاً يحتم عليهم خوض غمار “مهنة” تسمح لهم بالمشاركة في الاقتصاد الجديد للبلاد. ومن المفارقات، أن الدورات النظرية والعملية الجديدة أعادت مكانة شرفية للحرفي الماهر، بمعنى غير تقليدي، اعتماداً على ذخيرته من الأشكال والرموز التي يجب إعادة النظر فيها. وأتاح أسلوب شبعة في التدريس، الذي يركز على الفنون التطبيقية، إعادة تعريف الخط الكلاسيكي لاستخدامه في فن الطباعة وتصميم الملصقات، كما شجعت دروس مليحي في الرسم الطلاب على إعادة تفسير الأشكال والتنظيم البصري للسجاد الأمازيغي، وبالتالي تطويره إلى فن جداري (وسيط شاركه مع شبعة).

وفي الوقت نفسه، دعا فلينت الطلاب إلى استكشاف مجموعته من الفنون الشعبية والمجوهرات الأمازيغية، وكشف لهم أسراراً رمزية بالإضافة إلى إمكانياتها التزينية. وعملت توني ماريني، ابنة الكاتب الإيطالي وعالم الأنثروبولوجيا فوسكو ماريني، كمنظرة رئيسة للمجموعة، فهي التي كتبت البيانات والنصوص النقدية والكتالوجات لبلكاهية وشعبة ومليحي، من مراكش إلى بغداد. كما عرّفت الطلاب على تاريخ فني لم تسبق معاينته من قبل، مشيرة إلى إفريقيا والبحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​كمراكز شديدة الثراء والتنوع.

ساهمت هذه المجموعة في تعديل الذهنيات والمراجع الرسمية للطلاب؛ سواء عبر ورش عملية بالمدرسة أو البحث الميداني، لإعادة اكتشاف تراث كامل خاص متواجد في المناطق الريفية والمساجد والموائل التي بناها القرويون في سوس وجبال الأطلس الكبير.

ستؤدي هذه التجارب إلى ظهور”الفن المغاربي”، وهي مجلة صدرت بين عامي 1965 و1969، قدمت كل هذه المعرفة، ليس بشكل تصنيفي وتحليلي فقط، بل بالتناغم مع تجارب جمالية عملية، حيث خلقت السجادات والمجوهرات وزخارف الأسقف “مونتاجها” الخاص من الصور الدقيقة التي التقطها مليحي، والنصوص التحليلية التي كتبها كل من فلينت وماريني، ولتشكل هذه المجلة وثيقة قيمة وأساسية لفهم أثر هذا النموذج الحداثي وبصيص الضوء الذي أحدثه في المجتمع الإبداعي، رغم تغيبيه، الأمر الذي لم يخل بأثره بالمعنى الجماعي – والذي قد يُنظر إليه بعد ذلك على أنه أفرو-أمازيغي.

في نهاية المطاف، اتجهت مجموعة المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء، بصفتها مجموعة ناشطة وتربوية، إلى دمج بعدين منفصلين: مبادرات الفنانين والمعلمين (بدءاً من بلكاهية وشبعة ومليحي)، ومنشوراتهم ومعارضهم خارج الجدار أو (حتى بدون جدران، مثل معرض ” Présence Plastique” في العام 1969)؛ بينما تجسد البعد الثاني بتقديم مساحة متعددة الأشكال من دون التمركز حول العمل المرتبط بالاستوديو، بحيث تصبح في تفاعل مستمر مع الطلاب، وبالتالي إنشاء العوامل النسبية في التسلسل الهرمي التربوي. ومن الجدير ذكره أن أثر المدرسة لدى بعض الفنانين الذين ارتبطوا باستوديو المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء في الستينيات (حسين ميلودي، مليكة أغيزني، عبد الرحمن راهول، وغيرهم) ما زال ماثلاً في أعمالهم حتى يومنا هذا.

 

 محمد عطا الله (1939-2014)

كان الرسام والنحات والمصمم وعالم الآثار محمد عطا الله أستاذاً في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء بين عامي 1968 و1972.

بعد دراسته في المعهد الوطني للفنون الجميلة في تطوان، انضم عطا الله إلى كلية الفنون الجميلة في إشبيلية، وأكاديمية الفنون الجميلة في روما، وأخيراً المعهد المركزي للحفظ والترميم في مدريد. عاد إلى المغرب في العام 1963 لإجراء التنقيبات الأثرية بولاية طنجة. ركز عطا الله بشكل تدريجي على ممارسته الفنية من خلال معرفته الوثيقة بالفنون والحرف الشعبية، وأفضى تطور ممارسة عطا الله إلى تأسيس استراتيجيات حركة الفن البصري والتصميم الصناعي. بصفته أستاذاً للزخرفة والتصميم في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء منذ العام 1968، قدم إمكانات جديدة بما في ذلك فن التركيب واللوحات البيئية. تصور معرضه التاريخي في غاليري باب الرواح في العام 1972 علاقة جديدة بالمساحة الفنية، حيث قدم أعماله على أنها “متعددة” و”جزيئية”. عند عودته إلى فرنسا ومدينة كاين، أسس ورشة في أبحاث الجماليات، أدارها في سبعينات وثمانينات القرن الماضي، وأقام علاقات مع فنانين من أميركا اللاتينية مثل كارلوس كروز دييز وخيسوس رافائيل سوتو.

شكلت أعماله بشكل رئيس جزءاً من مقتنيات خاصة مغربية مثل منتجع وقصر السعدي، ومتحف المعدن للفن الإفريقي المعاصر (ماكال) في مراكش.

 

فريد بلكاهية (1934-2014)

شغل الرسام والنحات فريد بلكاهية منصب مدير المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء من 1962 إلى 1974.

أثناء دراسته في كلية الفنون الجميلة في باريس في العام 1955، اكتشف بلكاهية بول كلي وباوهاوس. عند عودته إلى المغرب في العام 1962، أصبح مديراً للمدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء، وهو المنصب الذي شغله حتى العام 1974. في براغ، درس في أكاديمية الفنون الأدائية والتقى بفنانين شيوعيين، مثل بابلو نيرودا وبول إلوارد. وبعد عامين، عندما كان مديراً للمدرسة العليا في عز شبابه (28 عاماً)، وسع بلكاهية رؤيته لثورة فنية: بين 1964-1965 عين محمد مليحي ومحمد شبعة كأستاذين في الفنون البصرية، إلى جانب طوني مرايني وبيرت فلينت لتدريس تاريخ الفن. اتخذ عمل بلكاهية منعطفاً جذرياً بحلول منتصف الستينات، وذلك عبر انفصاله الراديكالي عن العقيدة التصويرية الغربية، ولجأ بدلاً من ذلك إلى النحاس أو جلود الحيوانات أو الإطارات المصممة والمزخرفة. اتجه عمله نحو مزيج من الخط العربي والأبجدية الأمازيغية والهندسة النموذجية.

شكلت أعمال بلكاهية جزءاً من مقتنيات متاحف مثل مركز بومبيدو، ومعهد العالم العربي، وتيت مودرن، ومتحف، ومؤسسة بارجيل للفنون.

 

محمد شبعة (1935-2013)

درّس التشكيلي والنحات ورسام الجداريات ومصمم الغرافيك محمد شبعة في المعهد الوطني للفنون الجميلة في تطوان من 1965 إلى 1969.

تخرج شبعة من المعهد الوطني للفنون الجميلة في تطوان في العام 1955. ثم انتقل للعمل في قسم الهندسة المعمارية في وزارة الشباب والرياضة. في 1962، حصل على منحة دراسية من الحكومة الإيطالية لمواصلة دراسته في أكاديمية الفنون الجميلة في روما. كان التدريس جزءاً أساسياً من حياته المهنية، أولاً في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء، من 1964 إلى 1969، حيث كان مسؤولاً عن ورش الفنون الزخرفية، وفنون الرسم، والخط، وثم في المدرسة الوطنية للهندسة المعمارية بالرباط.

طور شبعة خبراته المبكرة وأدواته في علم التربية الفنية، والتي أصبحت جزءاً أساسياً من ممارسته. استكشف إمكانيات سياق ما بعد الاستعمار مع برنامج متعدد الأوجه لدمج الفنون في المجتمع والحياة اليومية. افتتح شبعة استوديو التصميم الخاص به في العام 1968 وقدم خدمات التصميم الداخلي والأثاث والفنون المتكاملة لشركات مثل الخطوط الملكية المغربية ومعرض الدار البيضاء الدولي. كما كان مصمم الغرافيك الرئيس لمجلة “سوفليس” (1966-1973) التي أسسها عبد اللطيف اللعبي.

شكلت أعماله بشكل رئيس جزءاً من  مقتنيات مغربية خاصة ومصرفية.

 

مصطفى حفيظ (مواليد 1942)

درس مصطفى حفيظ، الذي عُرف كرسام، في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء (1958-1961) وعمل لاحقاً أستاذاً فيها. في مناسبتين منفصلتين (1980 و 1985)، تم تعيينه كمدير بالإنابة من قبل المدرسة.

التحق مصطفى حفيظ بالمدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء قبل أن يذهب إلى وارسو، حيث درس لمدة خمس سنوات في أكاديمية الفنون الجميلة في قسم الرسم والفنون الغرافيكية. في عام 1966 حصل على دبلوم ماجستير الآداب. بمجرد عودته إلى المغرب، درّس في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء. شارك عام 1969  في المعرض-المانيفستو في ساحة جامع الفنا في مراكش وساحة 11 نوفمبر في الدار البيضاء، إلى جانب محمد عطا الله وفريد بلكاهية ومحمد شبعة ومحمد حميدي ومحمد مليحي. بين عامي 1980 و1985، تولى حفيظ الإدارة بالإنابة للمدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة في الدار البيضاء.

يجمع حفيظ، في ممارسته الفنية، بين المواد العضوية والاصطناعية مثل الرمل والورنيش، ويصوغها بقوة وحيوية على القماش. في 1973، عُرضت أعماله في صالة باب الرواح بالرباط، إلى جانب أعمال زوجته البولندية آنا دراوس حفيظ، التي افتتحت استوديو للنسيج في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء في العام التالي. أصبح حفيظ وزوجته ناقلين للتفاعل بين الفنانين الطليعيين المغاربة والبولنديين حيث نظما معرضاً جماعياً آخر في 1978 في الرباط، حيث تشاركا مع الفنانين هالينا كروستوفسكا وإدموند بيوترويتش.

شكلت أعمال حفيظ جزءاً من  مقتنيات خاصة ومصرفية في المغرب.

 

 محمد حميدي (مواليد 1941)

درس محمد حميدي، الذي عُرف كرسام، في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء في خمسينيات القرن الماضي، وعمل لاحقاً أستاذاً في نفس المؤسسة.

درس حميدي في باريس، حيث التحق أولاً بكلية الفنون الجميلة (1959) ثم بكلية الفنون والحرف (1962) حيث درس الرسم على الجص وتقنياته. عند عودته إلى المغرب في منتصف الستينيات من القرن الماضي، طور أسلوبه الإفريقي والأعمال التركيبية المتميزة، حيث دمج العناصر الإيروتيكية مع الفنون والحرف الشعبية. شارك عام 1969 في المعرض-المانيفستو في ساحة جامع الفنا في مراكش وساحة 11 نوفمبر في الدار البيضاء ، إلى جانب محمد عطا الله، فريد بلكاهية، ومحمد شبعة، ومصطفى حفيظ، ومحمد مليحي. وكعضو نشط في المجموعة، شارك في بينالي بغداد عام  1974 والمعرض الرسمي الجديد لساحة جامع الفنا بمراكش 1978. وكان أحد الممثلين الأساسيين للجداريات العصية على النسيان التي رسمت في مهرجان أصيلة الأول للفنون في المغرب خلال 1978.

شكلت أعماله جزءاً من مقتنيات متاحف مثل: مركز بومبيدو، ومعهد العالم العربي، ومؤسسة بارجيل للفنون.

 

محمد مليحي (1936-2020)

كان الرسام والنحات والمصور ورسام الجداريات ومصمم الغرافيك محمد مليحي أستاذاً في المدرسة العليا للفنون بالدار البيضاء بين عامي 1964 و1969.

بعد دراسته الأولية في تطوان، درس مليحي من عام 1955 في إشبيلية ومدريد، ومن عام 1957 في روما، حيث أصبح أيضاً أول فنان أفريقي عربي يعرض أعماله في غاليري توبازيا ألياتا الطليعي، والذي سيوصي به لاحقاً لمتاحف مثل لورانس ألوي. رحلة مليحي في التجريد االمتجاوز للحدود الوطنية أكسبه منصب أستاذ مساعد في معهد مينيابوليس للفنون في العام 1962. ثم انتقل إلى نيويورك وتم تضمينه في العام 1963 في رسم الحافة الصلبة والرسم الهندسي لمتحف الفن الحديث (موما). عاد إلى المغرب في العام 1964 عندما عينه فريد بلكاهية أستاذاً لتعليم الرسم والنحت والكولاج والتصوير في المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء. انضم إلى المجموعة الأساسية من الفنانين – عطاالله، وبلكاهية ، وشبعة، وحفيظ، وحميدي – لتأسيس أكثر منصات فنون ما بعد الكولونيالية راديكالية مع افتتاح معرض الشارع / المانفيستو “Présence Plastique” في 1969. شارك مليحي في تأسيس مجلة “إنتيغرال” (1971-1978)، ومهرجان أصيلة للفنون.

شكلت أعماله جزءاً من مقتنيات متاحف مثل: مركز بومبيدو، ومعهد العالم العربي، وتيت مودرن، ومتحف الفن الحديث، ومتحف، ومؤسسة بارجيل للفنون.

 

المراجع

 نسخة منقحة ومحرّرة وموسعة من محادثة جرت بين محمد مليحي ومراد منتظمي في ذا موزاييك روومز، لندن، في 6 يونيو 2019، أثناء معرض “موجات جديدة: محمد مليحي والمدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء”، 12 أبريل – 22 يونيو 2019.

مليحي، وثائقي من إخراج شالوم غورويتز، (نيويورك، 1984)، بتكليف من متحف برونكس للفنون عن العملية الفنية والمؤثرات في أعمال وإنجازات محمد مليحي في معرضه الفردي الذي أقيم في المتحف عام 1984. 26 دقيقة. © بإذن من شالوم غورويتز ومتحف برونكس للفنون. أرشيف إس إم.

جلسة نقاشية | محمد مليحي × شالوم غورويتز (باريس، 9.10.2020). © بإذن من السركال.

مراد منتظمي – المدرسة العليا للفنون الجميلة بالدار البيضاء: منصات وأنماط الطليعة ما بعد الاستعمار. © بإذن من لينباخوس ميونخ.

CASA

 

 

 

C.A.S.A.– Casablanca Art School Archives
by Zamân Books & Curating

The Casablanca Art School: A Golden Age or a Revolutionary Parenthesis?

The arrival of Farid Belkahia in 1962 at the helm of Casablanca’s Ecole des Beaux-Arts (where he would remain until 1974) opened a new and drastically different chapter in the long history of an institution born under the French with a more or less colonial influence (the school remains active to this day). One might speak of a golden parenthesis, or 12 years of a vast pool of position statements and artistic revolutions. Belkahia demonstrated the radical yet coherent nature of his project for the school by gradually expanding the teaching staff to integrate personalities such as Mohamed Melehi and Toni Maraini, followed by Mohamed Chabâa and Bert Flint—while at the same time joining forces with them in what has proven to be the most legendary art collective in the history of Morocco. Three other artist-facilitators, Romain Ataallah, Mustapha Hafid and Mohamed Hamidi, would occasionally join the ranks of the aforementioned artists.

Teaching methods such as easel painting, working from life models or statues, or more generally the Western tradition (post-cubist, post-impressionist, even orientalist) were replaced by an alternative pedagogy; resolutely oriented to the creative emancipation of students, sourcing perspectives for the future from within the Moroccan arts and tradition. A system which offered strictly commercial and artisanal opportunities was abandoned in favor of training that would produce authentic ‘artists-artisan’.

The challenge was even greater for many young Moroccans who felt that independence meant that they needed to train for a ‘career’ which would allow them to take part in the country’s new economy. Paradoxically, new theoretical and practical courses restored a place of honor to the master artisan, in a non-traditional sense, drawing from his repertoire of gestures, forms and symbols to be reconsidered. Hence, Chabâa’s teaching method, oriented towards the applied arts, would redefine classical calligraphy for use in the art of typography and poster design; Melehi’s painting classes encouraged students to reinterpret the patterns and visual organisation of Berber carpets, thus evolving them into mural art (a media he shared with Chabâa). Meanwhile, Flint invited students to explore his collection of folk art and Berber jewelry, revealing to them the secrets of their symbolism as well as their plastic potential. Toni Maraini, the daughter of Italian writer and anthropologist Fosco Maraini, acted as the principal theoretician of the group. It was she who wrote the manifestoes, critical texts and catalogues for Belkahia, Chabaâ, and Melehi, from Marrakech to Baghdad. Furthermore, she initiated students to a transversal and previously unseen art history, claiming Africa and the Mediterranean as centers for outreach.

Together, they would contribute to the modification of mindsets and formal references for students; whether in the school’s workshops or during field research, to rediscover an entire heritage concentrated notably in rural zones, the mosques and habitats created by villagers in the Souss and the High Atlas Mountains.

These experiences would give rise to Maghreb Art, a journal published between 1965 and 1969, in which all of this knowledge would be presented, not only classified and analyzed, but also supported by a real aestheticism. The carpets, jewelry and painted ceilings create their own ‘montage’ of rigorous photographs shot by Melehi and analytical texts by Flint and Maraini. A journal that would become a valuable document, fundamental to understanding this reversal of the modernist paradigm via the light cast by a creative community that, though anonymous, was undeniably powerful in the collective sense—which might then be thought of as Afro-Berber.

Ultimately, as an activist and pedagogical group, the Casablanca Art School group tended to fuse two separate dimensions: the initiatives of artist-teachers (beginning with Belkahia, Chabâa and Melehi), their publications and beyond-the-wall exhibitions (or even ‘without walls’, such as the Présence Plastique exhibition in 1969); but also, the polymorphous and less visible space of studio work, in constant interaction with students, thus relativizing factors of pedagogical hierarchy. Certain artists who were associated with the studio of the Casablanca Art School in the 1960s (Hossein Miloudi, Malika Agueznay, Abderrahmane Rahoule, among others) carry its traces in their work to this day.

 

Mohamed Ataallah (1939–2014)
Painter, sculptor, designer and an archaeologist, Mohamed Ataallah was a professor at the Casablanca Art School between 1968 and 1972.

After studying at the Fine Art School of Tetouan, Ataallah travelled in 1958 to Seville and Rome, before studying restoration in Madrid. He returned to Morocco in 1963 to conduct archaeological excavations in the province of Tangiers. Progressively focused on his artistic practice and informed by his close knowledge of popular arts and crafts, Ataallah’s development crossed over to Op Art strategies and industrial design. As a professor of decoration and design at the Casablanca Art School from 1968, he introduced new possibilities, including installation art and environmental paintings. His landmark exhibition at Bab Rouah gallery in 1972 envisioned a new relation to the art space, presenting his works as ‘multiple’ and ‘molecular’. Upon his return to France and the city of Caen, he established the Workshop of Aesthetics Research, which he ran throughout the 1970s and 1980s, making connections with Latin American Op artists such as Carlos Cruz-Diez and Jesus-Rafael Soto.
His work is mainly represented in Moroccan private collections such as Hôtel Saadi and MACAAL in Marrakech.

 

Farid Belkahia (1934–2014)
Painter and sculptor Farid Belkahia was the director of the Casablanca Art School from 1962 to 1974.

While studying at the Fine Art School of Paris in 1955, Belkahia discovered Paul Klee and the Bauhaus. Upon his return to Morocco in 1962, he was appointed as the director of the Casablanca Art School, a position he held until 1974. In Prague, he studied at the Academy of Performing Arts and met with communist artists, such as Pablo Neruda and Paul Eluard. After two years as a very young (28 years old) Casablanca Art School director, Bekahia expanded his vision for an artistic revolution: between 1964–1965 he appointed Mohamed Melehi and Mohammed Chabâa as visual arts professors alongside Toni Maraini and Bert Flint for art history courses. Belkahia’s own work took a radical turn by the mid-1960s as he concentrated his efforts on debunking the Western painting apparatus, resorting instead to copper, animal skin or shaped and decorated frames. His work inclined towards a combination of Arabic calligraphy, Amazigh alphabet and archetypal geometry.

Belkahia’s work is represented in museum collections such as Centre Pompidou, Institut du Monde Arabe, Tate Modern, Mathaf and Barjeel Arts Foundation.

 

Mohammed Chabâa (1935–2013)
Painter, sculptor, muralist and a graphic designer, Mohamed Chabâa taught at the Casablanca Art School from 1965 to 1969.

Chabâa graduated from the National Institute of Fine Arts in Tétouan in 1955. He went on to work in the architecture department of the Ministry of Youth and Sports. In 1962, he obtained a scholarship from the Italian government to continue his studies at the Accademia di Belle Arti di Roma in Rome. Teaching was an integral part of his career, first at the Casablanca Art School (1964–69), where he was in charge of the decorative arts, graphic arts and calligraphy workshops, and later at the National School of Architecture in Rabat. 

Chabâa developed early expertise and tools for art pedagogy, which became an integral part of his practice. He explored the possibilities of a postcolonial context with a multi-faceted programme of integration of the arts to society and to the everyday. Chabâa opened his design studio in 1968 and provided interior design, furniture and integrated arts services to companies such as Royal Air Maroc and the Casablanca International Fair. He was also the main graphic designer for the journal Souffles (1966–1973) founded by Abdellatif Laâbi.

His work is mainly represented in Moroccan private and bank collections.

 

Mustapha Hafid (b. 1942)
Mainly known as a painter, Mustapha Hafid studied at the Casablanca Art School (1958–1961) and later served as a professor. On two separate occasions (1980 and 1985), he was appointed as the temporary director by the school.

Hafid enrolled in the Casablanca Art School before going to Warsaw, where he studied for five years at the Academy of Fine Arts in the painting and graphic arts department. In 1966, he obtained a Master of Arts diploma. Once back in Morocco, he became a professor at the Casablanca Art School. In 1969, he participated in the manifesto-exhibition at the Jamaâ el Fna Square in Marrakech and the November 11th Square in Casablanca, with Mohamed Ataallah, Farid Belkahia, Mohamed Chabâa, Mohamed Hamidi, and Mohamed Melehi. Hafid also served as the acting director of the Casablanca Art School (1980–1985).

In his artistic practice, he combines organic and synthetic matter such as sand and lacquer, which he applies heavily and vigorously to canvas. In 1973, his works were shown at the Bab Rouah gallery in Rabat, alongside works by his Polish wife, Anna Draus-Hafid, who opened a weaving studio at the Casablanca Art School the following year. The Hafids became a vector of interaction between Moroccan and Polish avant-gardes as they organised another group show in 1978 in Rabat, uniting with artists Halina Chrostowska and Edmund Piotrowicz.

Hafid’s work can be found in private and bank collections in Morocco.

 

Mohamed Hamidi (b. 1941)
Well-known as a painter, Mohamed Hamidi studied at the Casablanca Art School in the 1950s, and later served as a professor at the same institution.
Hamidi studied in Paris, where he first enrolled at the Fine Art School (1959) and later at the Arts and Crafts School (1962) where he studied fresco painting and techniques. Upon his return to Morocco in the mid-1960s, he developed his Africanist and erotic style of compositions, combining sexual elements with popular arts and crafts patterns. He joined forces with the core group of artists—Ataallah, Belkahia, Chabâa, Hafid and Hamidi—who invented the most radical postcolonial arts platforms, with the street/manifesto exhibition Présence Plastique in 1969. As an active member of the group, he also took part in the 1974 Baghdad Biennale and the new manifesto exhibition of the Jmaa el-Fna square, Marrakech, in 1978. He was one of the primary actors for the memorable murals painted for Morocco’s first Asilah Arts Festival in 1978.

His work is represented in museum collections such as Centre Pompidou, Institut du Monde Arabe, Barjeel Art Foundation.

 

Mohamed Melehi (1936–2020)
Painter, sculptor, photographer, muralist and graphic designer, Mohamed Melehi was a professor at the Casablanca Art School between 1964 and 1969.

Following his primary studies in Tetouan, Melehi studied from 1955 in Seville and Madrid, and from 1957 in Rome where he would also become the first African-Arab artist to exhibit his work in the avant-garde gallery Topazia Alliata, which would later recommend him to museum minds such as Lawrence Alloway. Melehi’s journey in transnational abstraction earned him an assistant professor position at the Minneapolis Institute of Art in 1962. He then moved to New York and was included in the 1963 Hard Edge and Geometric Painting of the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). He returned to Morocco in 1964 when Farid Belkahia appointed him as a professor to teach painting, sculpture, collage and photography at the Casablanca Art School. He joined the core group of artists—Ataallah, Belkahia, Chabâa, Hafid and Hamidi—to set up the most radical postcolonial arts platform with the inauguration of the street/manifesto exhibition Présence Plastique in 1969. Melehi co-founded the journal Integral (1971–1978) and the Asilah Arts Festival.

His work is represented in museum collections such as Centre Pompidou, Institut du Monde Arabe, Tate Modern, MoMA, Mathaf and Barjeel Art Foundation.

 

References

Edited, revised and expanded transcript of a conversation between Mohamed Melehi and Morad Montazami that took place at The Mosaic Rooms, London, on 6 June 2019, during the exhibition ‘New Waves: Mohamed Melehi and the Casablanca Art School’, 12 April – 22 June 2019.

 

MELEHI, a documentary by Shalom Gorewitz, (New York, 1984) a film commissioned by The Bronx Museum of the Arts about the artistic process and influences behind M. Melehi’s works and achievements for his solo exhibition at the Museum in 1984. 26min. © Courtesy of Shalom Gorewitz and The Bronx Museum of the Arts. Archives SM.

 

Talk | Mohamed Melehi x Shalom Gorewitz (Paris, 9.10.2020) © Courtesy Alserkal

 

Morad Montazami – The Casablanca Art School: platforms and patterns of the postcolonial avant-garde © Courtesy Lenbachhaus München